Go Back   WowAce Forums > Addon Chat > Addon Ideas
Addon Ideas Present your ideas for new addons.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2011   #11
scotepi
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Augusta, ME
Posts: 33
Default Re: LibInspect ?

GUID is fixed. I had it hard coded into one of my addons for a debug mode for months without issue.
scotepi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011   #12
kunda
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 464
Default Re: LibInspect ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by scotepi View Post
I would love to have a inspect library that addon could share.
Some features:
- Take inspect in the form of unitID, UnitName(), GUID
- Hook the fields that you want to know ie. item level, stam, resilliance, guild, spec or just return everything available
- Correct all the inspect bugs in Blizzards code
- Return initial information and then a followup function when all information is available
- Caching of inspect information for the session however the registering addon and specify max cache age

I would be a little interested in writing this however I have no idea how to write a library.
Take a look at more than 15000 (much more if you look at all data/gearstats files) lines of code: CharScanner (http://www.wowace.com/addons/charscanner/). CharScanner gives you a complete char/gear scan (including all available gems/reforge/enchs/sets(cata) stats and nearly 1000 achievements (PvE/PvP), spec, guild, and more) in round about 0.4 seconds. No other addon is that fast! ~0.4 seconds! (try to beat that...)

There is NO bug in the inspect code from Blizzard!!!
The problem is: different addons that try to inspect (use inspect events without check for the 10sec/6events restriction introduced with Patch 3.3.5) and not the inspect code from Blizz! Main culprit: libraries/addons that always try to get spec/shitlvl from everyone.(mouseover...haha...lag)

Quote:
Originally Posted by egingell View Post
Also, I'm 60% sure the GUID is not always the same for the same player. I'm unsure when they change, possibly when the server reboots, or maybe even when you relog.
Quote:
Originally Posted by inthedrops View Post
Can someone confirm this? It wasn't what I expected and am working on something that is using player guid.
The character GUID is always the same and the character GUID is unique in the whole Blizz(WoW) universe (because of the battlegroups identifier that was introduced with Patch 3.1). A character is getting a new GUID by creation; this GUID only changes if this character is transfered to another server or if you change faction on your server.

Last edited by kunda; 05-20-2011 at 03:50 AM.
kunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011   #13
scotepi
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Augusta, ME
Posts: 33
Default Re: LibInspect ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kunda View Post
Take a look at more than 15000 (much more if you look at all data/gearstats files) lines of code: CharScanner (http://www.wowace.com/addons/charscanner/). CharScanner gives you a complete char/gear scan (including all available gems/reforge/enchs/sets(cata) stats and nearly 1000 achievements (PvE/PvP), spec, guild, and more) in round about 0.4 seconds. No other addon is that fast! ~0.4 seconds! (try to beat that...)
Nice sales pitch, lol

Thats kind of what I would like to see just in library form or atlest a open data structure that other addons can use. ie. those "rate, score or measure!" addons
scotepi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011   #14
Ketho
Senior Member
 
Ketho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 256
Default Re: LibInspect ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kunda View Post
this GUID only changes if this character is transfered to another server or if you change faction on your server.
If we are talking about GUIDs; I have actually tested this myself on the previous 4.1.0 PTRs, and the GUID of my test character(s) did not change at all after the following tests ...
  • Sex Change
  • Name Change
  • Race Change
  • Faction Change
Note: I don't have anything about the GUID on transferring server, although it's very likely I guess

Last edited by Ketho; 06-07-2011 at 03:20 PM.
Ketho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011   #15
scotepi
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Augusta, ME
Posts: 33
Default Re: LibInspect ?

I have a basic inspect lib for items. I'm wondering if anyone else would be interested in it. I only has 4 real functions, I can't really think of any more.

Code:
INSPECT:AddHook(name, callback);
    ex. INSPECT:AddHook('AddonName', function(guid, items) YourFunction(guid, items); end);
    
INSPECT:RemoveHook(name);

INSPECT:GetItems(target, force);
    returns items, age, guid, refreshing
    refreshing is true if a InspectNotify(target) was fired, look for a callback in 1sec
    
INSPECT:CacheAge(maxAge);
    lowest wins
    
Note: cache is reset on UI reload, its not to replace your own caching mechanism
It doesn't do anything with throttling inspects because I can't find and usful information about the limits.
scotepi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011   #16
Phanx
Seal Cub Clubbing Club
 
Phanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 8,103
Default Re: LibInspect ?

OP has created a thread for this library. Further discussion should take place there:
http://forums.wowace.com/showthread.php?t=19804
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, and many more. | PM me on CurseForge
Troubleshoot an addon | Turn any code into an addon | More addon resources
Need help with your code? Attach or paste your whole, real files.
Please don't PM me about addon bugs, requests, or code help. Post a comment, ticket, or thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lib inspect idea bugs


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:03 AM.