Go Back   WowAce Forums > Addon Chat > Frameworks > Ace3
Ace3 Ace3 framework discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2008   #11
Starinnia
Hero Member
 
Starinnia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 654
Default Re: WelcomeHome - Your first Ace3 Addon

Quote:
Originally Posted by ciscoh View Post
was this ever done? where can i find it?

CiscOH
Code:
local options = {
    type = 'group',
    args = {
        someopt = {
          --code for options
        }
        --maybe more options
        profile = LibStub("AceDBOptions-3.0"):GetOptionsTable(self.db)
    }
}
or if the options table is defined as above (without the profile key) and you want to add the profile support in a later part of the same file:

Code:
options.args.profile = LibStub("AceDBOptions-3.0"):GetOptionsTable(self.db)
Where self.db is where you did
Code:
self.db = LibStub("AceDB-3.0"):New("addonDB", defaults, "Default")
__________________
Author of SimpleMD, MobileVault, MillHelp, Sifter, ComboPointsRedux, RealID Toons, and Prescription.
Starinnia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008   #12
Cowberty
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: WelcomeHome - Your first Ace3 Addon

just wondering...did somthing in the tutorial break when WotLK came out...because i'm trying to pick up on Ace and i can't even get the tutorial examples to work (of course this could just be user error )

can someone clue me in as to possible changes/obscurities i may have missed?

thanks in advance
Cowberty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008   #13
Xinhuan
Asian Sheep Lover
 
Xinhuan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 4,033
Default Re: WelcomeHome - Your first Ace3 Addon

It would help if you could say what is broken/not working as expected.
__________________
Author/Maintainer of Postal, Omen3, GemHelper, BankItems, WoWEquip, GatherMate, Routes, HandyNotes and some others.
Xinhuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008   #14
Cowberty
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: WelcomeHome - Your first Ace3 Addon

well all that seems to work is it showing up in the addons portion of the login screen. Other than that, I can't get it to print hello world, respond to slash commands, or do anything at all.... I must be missing something...
Cowberty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008   #15
Seerah
Legendary Member
 
Seerah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,620
Default Re: WelcomeHome - Your first Ace3 Addon

why don't you post your code on wowace.pastey.net?
__________________
Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008   #16
xesxesxes
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: WelcomeHome - Your first Ace3 Addon

link redirects me to home page ;(
xesxesxes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008   #17
Seerah
Legendary Member
 
Seerah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,620
Default Re: WelcomeHome - Your first Ace3 Addon

http://ace.pastey.net
__________________
Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008   #18
Cowberty
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: WelcomeHome - Your first Ace3 Addon

okay so here's what I got...http://wowace.pastey.net/102175

but it's only just an exact copy of the code that's at the end of the tutorial. It wasn't working through the progression of the tutorial so i just decided to copy and paste the final code to see if that worked...but nothing..=(
Cowberty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008   #19
Xinhuan
Asian Sheep Lover
 
Xinhuan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 4,033
Default Re: WelcomeHome - Your first Ace3 Addon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowberty View Post
okay so here's what I got...http://wowace.pastey.net/102175

but it's only just an exact copy of the code that's at the end of the tutorial. It wasn't working through the progression of the tutorial so i just decided to copy and paste the final code to see if that worked...but nothing..=(
Your TOC file is probably wrong then.
__________________
Author/Maintainer of Postal, Omen3, GemHelper, BankItems, WoWEquip, GatherMate, Routes, HandyNotes and some others.
Xinhuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008   #20
Biser
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: WelcomeHome - Your first Ace3 Addon

All right, I stripped this down to almost nothing - why doesn't ZONE_CHANGED do anything? There must be some simple errror in this program. Target changed does work:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
WelcomeHome = LibStub("AceAddon-3.0"):NewAddon("WelcomeHome", "AceConsole-3.0", "AceEvent-3.0")

function WelcomeHome:OnInitialize()
WelcomeHome:Print("Welcome Home Loaded")
end

function WelcomeHome:OnEnable()
self:Print("OnEnable Called with Zone")
self:RegisterEvent("PLAYER_TARGET_CHANGED")
self:RegisterEvent("ZONE_CHANGED")
end

function WelcomeHome:PLAYER_TARGET_CHANGED()
self:Print("Target Changed")
end

function WelcomeHome:ZONE_CHANGED()
self:Print("Zone Changed")
end

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tested by going in and out of lorderon, also via the portal to silvermoon.
Biser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:12 AM.