Go Back   WowAce Forums > Addon Chat > Addon Ideas
Addon Ideas Present your ideas for new addons.

View Poll Results: Is this something you'd like to see?
I like it! 28 82.35%
Don't care 3 8.82%
Bad idea 3 8.82%
Voters: 34. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2008   #1
Mikk
Administrator
 
Mikk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 199
Default One-click "enable config mode for all addons"

Yaknow... after playing WAR, there's one thing I'm missing in WoW: the ability to show everything and make it movable with one single button press.

I'm thinking that we would need to standardize on something very simple where addons can get notifications of "config mode on/off" events. No, this won't be AceEvent, I don't want any bars for non-ace addons.

Maybe something like this:

CONFIGMODE_CALLBACKS = {
["MyAddon"] = MyAddon_OnConfigMode
["OtherAddon"] = OtherAddon_CnfModeHandler
}

i.e. one global table that addons can create if necessary, and then stick an entry in.

Then their registered function pointers would get called with ("ON") or ("OFF") as parameters - nice and extensible if more things are needed.

Example code needed in an addon would be something like:
Code:
  CONFIGMODE_CALLBACKS = CONFIGMODE_CALLBACKS or {}
  CONFIGMODE_CALLBACKS["MyAddon"] = function(mode)
    if mode=="ON" then 
      MyAddon.EnableConfigShizzle(true)
    elseif mode=="OFF" then 
      MyAddon.EnableConfigShizzle(false)
    end
  end
Nice and clean.


As for what would actually CALL these? Well, that'd then be entirely open. Someone could write a standalone addon to do it, or integrate it into some other system, or whatever.


Input?


Edit: What I mean by "config mode" is not popping up config dialogs. I mean displaying drag handles.. making things movable.. popping out test bars / dummy message .... making things sizable.. stuff like that. So that you SEE if you're moving something on top of something else without having to hop into the config of every single on-screen addon you have first.

Last edited by Mikk; 10-24-2008 at 03:53 AM.
Mikk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008   #2
OrionShock
Legendary Member
 
OrionShock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3,787
Default Re: One-click "enable config mode for all addons"

I like this idea, but with out a proof of concept enabler addon it wouldn't go very far :\
__________________
Author of GuildCraft, SickOfClickingDailies, CursorCooldown, Broken_LFD
WoWAce Addon List WoWInterface Addon List

"I was there in the beginning... and things were very different back then" --An Echo from a time before.
OrionShock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008   #3
Mikk
Administrator
 
Mikk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 199
Default Re: One-click "enable config mode for all addons"

It also won't go very far without addons responding to the event, which is why I thought it'd be a good idea to check if my idea is sound, FIRST
Mikk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008   #4
Torhal
Moderator
 
Torhal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,182
Send a message via ICQ to Torhal
Default Re: One-click "enable config mode for all addons"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikk View Post
It also won't go very far without addons responding to the event, which is why I thought it'd be a good idea to check if my idea is sound, FIRST
If you code it, they will come. Unless it's a library that shouldn't be a library because it'll only veer be used by a single addon.

Anywho: Nice concept.
__________________
Whenever someone says "pls" because it's shorter than "please", I say "no" because it's shorter than "yes".

Author/Maintainer of Archy, Ackis Recipe List, Revelation, Spamalyzer, Volumizer, and many other AddOns.
Torhal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008   #5
Mikk
Administrator
 
Mikk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 199
Default Re: One-click "enable config mode for all addons"

Seerah pointed me at http://www.wowace.com/projects/nshakedown/

It kinda does this already, but only for addons it knows about (it hardcodes calls into them). nShakedown would be one very obvious place to do these callouts from.
Mikk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008   #6
Nemes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 291
Default Re: One-click "enable config mode for all addons"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikk View Post
Seerah pointed me at http://www.wowace.com/projects/nshakedown/

It kinda does this already, but only for addons it knows about (it hardcodes calls into them). nShakedown would be one very obvious place to do these callouts from.
I've abandoned wow for war... I haven't even installed wow 3.0...

If you want to take over NShakedown / hack it up / use the OO parts as a skeleton for this, you're most welcome to it.

NShakedown turned into a maintenance nightmare - only about 30% of the addons were done by the respective authors, the rest were done by me, and often broke during updates.

If this enablement code is built into the addons, NShakedown would be much simpler and easier - just build a list of addons that support these methods and call them.
Nemes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008   #7
tenchu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 70
Default Re: One-click "enable config mode for all addons"

Would be great if this can get implemented. NShakeDown was awsome I can configure everything with one click.
tenchu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008   #8
egingell
Amazing Member
 
egingell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cenarion Circle
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via AIM to egingell Send a message via MSN to egingell
Default Re: One-click "enable config mode for all addons"

"standardize" is a scary word amongst programmers. I had a hard enough time making one of my addons work with Khaos.
__________________
WoWWiki has moved! Please, make a note of it.
My Addons (a handy dandy list).
My Characters (yes, I have a guild with only me in it).
egingell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008   #9
Elsia
Legendary Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,144
Default Re: One-click "enable config mode for all addons"

I like the idea in principle, but I think in reality most people want: Make some (not all mods) go into config mode. And what people expect in that some-set varies.

A very different but related idea has to do with rapid config of many addons by allowing profile copy/setting for all addons that support acedb profiling. That is something that can be done, will work gracefully for most needs. But I understand that it's a different purpose. The idea here is for intial setup of the UI, this is for rapid propagation of setups (between alts, accounts etc).
Elsia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008   #10
Adirelle
Legendary Member
 
Adirelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,385
Default Re: One-click "enable config mode for all addons"

Rough proof of concept:

Throw in LibDataBroker and LibDBIcon and do :

Code:
CONFIGMODE_CALLBACKS = CONFIGMODE_CALLBACKS or {}
local OneButtonConfig = LibStub('LibDataBroker'):New('OneButtonConfig', {
  type = 'launcher',
  state = false,
  OnClick = function(self)
    self.state = not self.state
    for name,callback in pairs(CONFIGMODE_CALLBACKS ) do
      local ok, msg = pcall(callback, state)
      if not ok then geterrorhandler()(msg) end
    end
  end
})
LibStub("LibDBIcon-1.0"):Register("OneButtonConfig", OneButtonConfig, OneButtonConfigDB)
SLASH_ONEBUTTONCONFIG1 = "/onebuttonconfig"
SLASH_ONEBUTTONCONFIG2 = "/obc"
SlashCmdList["ONEBUTTONCONFIG"] = function() OneButtonConfig:OnClick() end
__________________
Author of AdiButtonAuras, AdiBags, Squire2 and several other addons.

Each time you hit your "copy" command with a block of code, think about a way to refactor it so it did what you want without using the "paste" command.

Last edited by Adirelle; 10-26-2008 at 04:10 PM.
Adirelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:53 PM.