Go Back   WowAce Forums > Official Addon Threads > Unit Frames > Grid & Grid2
Grid & Grid2 Discussions regarding Grid & Grid2 goes here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-15-2010   #1
Phanx
Seal Cub Clubbing Club
 
Phanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 8,148
Default Grid — compact party/raid unit frames

Opening a new thread, since the old one is over 4 years old and contains hundreds of posts that are no longer remotely relevant.

Grid is a compact party/raid unit frame addon.



Grid's primary goal is to show only the information you need to make effective gameplay decisions, as concisely as possible. It is also highly customizable, so you can choose which information you want to see, and how it's displayed. Grid can display information using the center icon, either of two center texts, any of the four corner squares, the frame border, the frame's opacity, and the health bar's color. By default, Grid can show information about health, mana, aggro/threat, buffs/debuffs, range, and ready checks.

Grid is extensible through plugins. You can find a mostly-complete list of plugins on the project page. Keep in mind, though, that plugins are third-party addons, and are not maintained or supported by the authors of Grid. Please do not post here about plugins; instead, post on the plugin's download page, bug tracker, or forum thread. Thanks!

Grid was originally written by Maia and Pastamancer. It is now maintained by Phanx, Greltok, and other members of the community.

Download stable versions:
Curse
WoWInterface

Download development versions (untested/unstable):
WowAce

For more information:
Grid project page on WowAce
Grid User's Guide

Please use the ticket tracker to report bugs or request features!
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, and many more. | PM me on CurseForge
Troubleshoot an addon | Turn any code into an addon | More addon resources
Need help with your code? Attach or paste your whole, real files.
Please don't PM me about addon bugs, requests, or code help. Post a comment, ticket, or thread instead!

Last edited by Phanx; 10-15-2010 at 11:36 AM.
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010   #2
Phanx
Seal Cub Clubbing Club
 
Phanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 8,148
Default Re: Grid — compact party/raid unit frames

Common Questions, Known Issues, etc.
Last updated 2012-01-13


Please do not post new reports about the issues listed here. We are already aware of them and, if they are within our control, are working to fix them.

Grid freezes for a few seconds during the Morchok encounter. (ticket #580)

This is a known issue, and involves the way the game client handles the Earthen Vortex mechanic in conjunction with the secure group header templates that Grid uses. I (Phanx) do not currently have first-hand access to this game content, so this issue is awaiting the attention of someone who does.

As a temporary workaround, you can switch to a layout that does not display pets during this encounter.

Incoming heals are showing the wrong amount!

This is not a bug in Grid. Incoming heal values now come from the game client itself, instead of requiring everyone in your group to install a third-party library to communicate about their healing spells. Grid has no control over the accuracy of incoming heal values, and no way to tell whether a value is accurate or not. Feel free to report inaccurate values to Blizzard.

Incoming heals are showing HoT ticks!

This is not a bug in Grid. The game client doesn't differentiate between incoming health from direct heals and incoming health from periodic effects, so Grid cannot specifically filter out HoTs. You can filter out most HoT ticks by using the Minimum Value setting for the Incoming Heals status to hide smaller amounts of healing.

Incoming heals aren't shown at all!

Check the Minimum Value setting for the Incoming Heals status, and make sure it's set appropriately for your level and gear. It should be set lower than the size of a direct heal, but higher than the size of a HoT tick.

I'm using version r1234 and it's broken!

Version numbers that follow the "r1234" pattern are alpha-quality snapshots of the current development process. They are not supported, may be unstable or not work at all, and may cause you to lose your settings. If you are not comfortable running experimental code, please stick with Release and Beta versions, whose numbers follow the "4.0.3.1234" or "4.0.3.1234-beta" patterns, respectively.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, and many more. | PM me on CurseForge
Troubleshoot an addon | Turn any code into an addon | More addon resources
Need help with your code? Attach or paste your whole, real files.
Please don't PM me about addon bugs, requests, or code help. Post a comment, ticket, or thread instead!

Last edited by Phanx; 01-15-2012 at 02:10 AM.
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010   #3
bwbw
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Grid — compact party/raid unit frames

hi, have a question very impotant for me as a raid healer(rdru): can i make new version of grid looks like this http://img835.imageshack.us/img835/997/ww1p.jpg
it's some version before ace3grid. as you see its class color hp and black color of lack of health, player which are dead - full black, not transparent class color. lf help to realise it in new version. it keeps my eyes save when i looking for damaged players)

Last edited by bwbw; 10-15-2010 at 12:11 PM.
bwbw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010   #4
MSaint
Junior Member
 
MSaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 55
Default Re: Grid — compact party/raid unit frames

Heya Phanx et al. The reason why pets are still spaced out is because the whole fix depends on REINTRODUCING the use of SecureGroupPetHeaderTemplate for pet groups, and the fix added a few lines later makes that work. As long as you are not using the pet headers, the frames will be created for all the players in the group/raid. The fix to the latest alpha (r1372) as is, would be to change line 41 of GridLayout.lua to the following:

Code:
local header = CreateFrame("Frame", "GridLayoutHeader" .. NUM_HEADERS, GridLayoutFrame, (isPetGroup and "SecureGroupPetHeaderTemplate" or "SecureGroupHeaderTemplate"))
The code added on lines 53 and 54 makes the pet headers work with clickcast template because it overcomes the Blizz bug that was making the use of pet headers fail.

Sorry for the confusion about this, I should have commented my posted code better.
MSaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010   #5
Senghor
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Grid — compact party/raid unit frames

Hi there,

For some unknown reason I can't get the standard corner indicators working.
I double checked their settings and they seem ok.

Is that a know issue? (grid 1.40000.1370)

Good luck with the update.
Senghor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010   #6
Phanx
Seal Cub Clubbing Club
 
Phanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 8,148
Default Re: Grid — compact party/raid unit frames

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSaint View Post
The fix to the latest alpha (r1372) as is, would be to change line 41 of GridLayout.lua to the following:
Ah, yeah, I missed that bit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Senghor View Post
For some unknown reason I can't get the standard corner indicators working.
Not a known issue, and I'm not having any problems with the corner indicators. Post a ticket and attach your Grid saved variables to it.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, and many more. | PM me on CurseForge
Troubleshoot an addon | Turn any code into an addon | More addon resources
Need help with your code? Attach or paste your whole, real files.
Please don't PM me about addon bugs, requests, or code help. Post a comment, ticket, or thread instead!

Last edited by Phanx; 10-15-2010 at 04:29 PM.
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010   #7
Senghor
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Grid — compact party/raid unit frames

I uninstalled / installed grid and now it's working fine.
I'll post a ticket if I can reproduce it.
Senghor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010   #8
ilarnek
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Grid — compact party/raid unit frames

Was wondering...

Should Grid be hiding the player, party and raid frames when Grid is selected for use under Layouts. Pretty sure pre-WoW 4.0 it did this. Not sure if its something buggy on my end.
ilarnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010   #9
Phanx
Seal Cub Clubbing Club
 
Phanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 8,148
Default Re: Grid — compact party/raid unit frames

No. Grid has never, and most likely will never, hide or otherwise modify the default UI. Use an addon like HideBlizzard to remove parts of the default UI you don't want to see.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, and many more. | PM me on CurseForge
Troubleshoot an addon | Turn any code into an addon | More addon resources
Need help with your code? Attach or paste your whole, real files.
Please don't PM me about addon bugs, requests, or code help. Post a comment, ticket, or thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010   #10
scubamonkey
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Grid — compact party/raid unit frames

Unless you're wanting folks to peruse the tail end of the previous forum thread before coming to this one (and maybe you are?), you should link to this new thread from Grid's "homepage" on WowAce. Right now it's still linking to the old one....forcing a couple of extra steps to locate the current discussion.

Last edited by scubamonkey; 10-16-2010 at 01:23 AM.
scubamonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:40 AM.