Go Back   WowAce Forums > Addon Chat > Libraries
Libraries Threads for new libraries and mixins.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2010   #1
dhedbor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 263
Lightbulb LibDropdown-1.0 - A now working Ace3 dropdown library

So I needed a replacement for Dewdrop for my Bulk Mail modernization project and decided to take another shot at making LibDropdown-1.0 functional. I think I succeeded pretty well. If you want to see it in action, Bulk Mail 4.0 beta uses it for the LDB menu as well as the menu structure in the editing UI. It supports the following standard Ace3 structures:
  • Color
  • Execute
  • Groups
  • Header
  • Input
  • Range
  • Select
  • Toggle
Usage

Code:
local menuframe = LibStub("LibDropdown-1.0"):OpenAce3Menu(Ace3ConfigTable)
This returns a frame for the root menu. You might want to use SetPoint
on this frame to attach it to an appropriate location. You may
optionally release the menu with:
Code:
menuframe:Release()
However this isn't required unless you want to manually hide the menu when something is selected.

http://www.wowace.com/addons/libdropdown-1-0/

Let me know if you have any issues with it.

Example menus:



Last edited by dhedbor; 11-23-2010 at 07:07 AM. Reason: Adding images
dhedbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010   #2
Ketho
Senior Member
 
Ketho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 258
Default Re: LibDropdown-1.0 - A now working Ace3 dropdown library

Are there any screenshots/"visualisations" or tutorials for noobs who have never used DewDrop or implemented any LibDataBroker support before?
I reread the description several times, and I was thinking this is like AceConfigDialog options tables but then for in a LDB menu..
__________________
Ketho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010   #3
sylvanaar
Legendary Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,874
Default Re: LibDropdown-1.0 - A now working Ace3 dropdown library

A screenshot would be nice so we can see what you created.
__________________
sylvanaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010   #4
OrionShock
Legendary Member
 
OrionShock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3,787
Default Re: LibDropdown-1.0 - A now working Ace3 dropdown library

It's a start, however you don't implement the info table properly so full integration with existing options tables for ace3 is not viable
__________________
Author of GuildCraft, SickOfClickingDailies, CursorCooldown, Broken_LFD
WoWAce Addon List WoWInterface Addon List

"I was there in the beginning... and things were very different back then" --An Echo from a time before.
OrionShock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010   #5
dhedbor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 263
Default Re: LibDropdown-1.0 - A now working Ace3 dropdown library

Antiarc did most of the details. I just fixed the remaining bugs to make it work for my use cases. If you find bugs feel free to create tickets for them of course. Remember, this project was dormant for years in a totally non-working state.

Anyway, I added some images to the project page and the first post. The border/color will use the theme of the tooltips as set by the user (similar to what LibQTip does).
dhedbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010   #6
Nevcairiel
Super Moderator
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany/Hamburg
Posts: 1,811
Default Re: LibDropdown-1.0 - A now working Ace3 dropdown library

Man, why didnt you people learn that dropdowns more then 2 levels deep are a usability nightmare.

Its dewdrop all over again. Can i purge it with fire before it spreads?

PS: i briefly looked through the code, but closed it in disgust. Mixed space and tab indents.... format it properly already.

It really shouldnt have been approved from experimental until its cleaned up and at least supports the core parts of the spec, but uh, torhal was feeling blue i guess. <.<
__________________
Author/Maintainer of Ace3, Bartender4, Mapster, Quartz, HotCandy, and various small and helpful addons.
You can Donate if you want, any help is appreciated!

Last edited by Nevcairiel; 11-23-2010 at 08:56 AM.
Nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010   #7
dhedbor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 263
Default Re: LibDropdown-1.0 - A now working Ace3 dropdown library

It's meant to replace dewdrop yes. I wouldn't use it for very deep menus in general, but it definitely has its uses. Code has been reformatted to what I normally use but I don't take responsibility for most of the code since I didn't write it.

Did fix some Ace3 compatibility issues with the 'info' structure (I hope) and fixed some issues with sliders and groups that get data from a method.

Is this perfect and awesome? No. Did it help me convert BulkMail2 away from ace2 libraries faster - definitely.
dhedbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010   #8
Nevcairiel
Super Moderator
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany/Hamburg
Posts: 1,811
Default Re: LibDropdown-1.0 - A now working Ace3 dropdown library

The indentation is better now, thanks.

The "arg" parameter is still missing in the info table.

Also, you're not supposed to convert stuff fast, you're supposed to do it properly. :P
options in dropdown are fail. It can be useful for some quick access things, i guess, and being able to define those with an option table can be useful as well, i suppose. Some people just dont thiink and will blindly use dropdowns for full blown configs again.
__________________
Author/Maintainer of Ace3, Bartender4, Mapster, Quartz, HotCandy, and various small and helpful addons.
You can Donate if you want, any help is appreciated!

Last edited by Nevcairiel; 11-23-2010 at 09:04 AM.
Nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010   #9
Xinhuan
Asian Sheep Lover
 
Xinhuan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 4,033
Default Re: LibDropdown-1.0 - A now working Ace3 dropdown library

Try it on the Routes options table. And the Omen one. If it survives and works (by works, you actually need to test the get and set functions, Omen and Routes uses the info[] table extensively), then you passed.

Routes in particular, modifies its own options table directly and extensively from the options as you create, modify and destroy routes.
__________________
Author/Maintainer of Postal, Omen3, GemHelper, BankItems, WoWEquip, GatherMate, Routes, HandyNotes and some others.
Xinhuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010   #10
dhedbor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 263
Default Re: LibDropdown-1.0 - A now working Ace3 dropdown library

It's used in BulkMail2 primarily for the purpose of configuring auto-send rules (the most deep structure being PT31 sets), not options. I personally liked the original dewdrop-based interface in BM2 so I saw no reason to change it. It wasn't necessarily the quickest path either.
dhedbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace3, dropdown, menu library


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:52 PM.