Go Back   WowAce Forums > Addon Chat > AddOn HELP!
AddOn HELP! Requests for assistance and misc bug reports go here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2011   #1
keLston
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Default Random addons blocking removing glyphs?

So this is an issue that's been driving me (and my guildmates) nuts.

Every time I want to try to remove a glyph (the shift-right click option), I get the error saying it's blocked and an addon is blamed. Each time it's an Ace related addon. For me it used to always blame Talented. When I run on characters that didn't run Talented, it would blame Ace3 itself. For my raid leader, it blames Skada.

Since I don't get a LUA error just the BLOCKED, I have no idea which addon is actually causing the issue mostly because the enabling one by one option came up inconclusive (it ended up going back and blaming random addons).

The search for this issue had a thread back in November that hinted at Auctionator, but I tried disabling that to no avail and that thread hasn't seen a post since then.
keLston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011   #2
Rabbit
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,496
Default Re: Random addons blocking removing glyphs?

The problem is that any addon that uses a StaticPopupDialog (the window that asks if you really want to replace a glyph or not) will taint it.

This is a Blizzard problem and there's not much an individual addon can do about it.

However, I have a sort-of solution in the works in the form of a small library that replicates the SPD functionality and allows authors to easily drop it in their addon and replace the usage of the Blizzard one with mine.

It's a "sort-off" solution because it only solves the problem if all your addons start using it.

I am off to work in a minute, but I'll upload it tomorrow.
Rabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011   #3
Kerecha
Legendary Member
 
Kerecha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,432
Default Re: Random addons blocking removing glyphs?

Been having those issues to, but it seems that doing a /rl and then right away try to remove the glyph usually works. (Not always thou, but usually)
__________________
*The face of the Angel hides the soul of the Demon*

Probably got caught in wrong kit as usual.
*Anonymity is an eternal Bliss, By name our soul forever bound*
*Normal is Boring*

Kerecha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011   #4
keLston
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Default Re: Random addons blocking removing glyphs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabbit View Post
The problem is that any addon that uses a StaticPopupDialog (the window that asks if you really want to replace a glyph or not) will taint it.

This is a Blizzard problem and there's not much an individual addon can do about it.

However, I have a sort-of solution in the works in the form of a small library that replicates the SPD functionality and allows authors to easily drop it in their addon and replace the usage of the Blizzard one with mine.

It's a "sort-off" solution because it only solves the problem if all your addons start using it.

I am off to work in a minute, but I'll upload it tomorrow.
Curious on what became of this.
keLston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011   #5
Jordons
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Random addons blocking removing glyphs?

Same
Jordons is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:18 AM.