Go Back   WowAce Forums > Addon Chat > Frameworks
Frameworks Framework Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2011   #1
dpsgnome
Junior Member
 
dpsgnome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
Default Possible change to AddonLoader "delayed" loading

As per http://www.wowace.com/addons/addon-l...-combat-false/ (but read comments, not ticket),

I'm considering changing "X-LoadOn-Always: delayed" behavior slightly to make "delayed" mean "not in combat".

This would be a slightly incompatible change, since IF you want something loaded when you log on into combat (think crash/disconnect in a bossfight), you would have to explicitly add a condition to load it during combat.


If there's anyone wildly against this, please say so here or in the ticket.

To everyone else using delayed loading: consider adding "X-LoadOn-Combat: true" already if your addon is important for combat. It's even a good-ish idea without the change.
__________________
Yes. I'm actually Mikk. The curse user DB has mixed this old account up with my new one. Going on 3 years now! It's awesome.
dpsgnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011   #2
Adirelle
Legendary Member
 
Adirelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Possible change to AddonLoader "delayed" loading

Will delayed addons still be loaded "slowly", one at a time ? If yes, this seems fine to me.

I'm also wondering if "X-LoadOn-Combat: true" does load the addon before the combat lock up, so they can create any needed secure frames (or whatever cannot be done in combat).
__________________
Author of Inline Aura, AdiBags, Squire2 and several other addons.

Each time you hit your "copy" command with a block of code, think about a way to refactor it so it did what you want without using the "paste" command.
Adirelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011   #3
dpsgnome
Junior Member
 
dpsgnome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
Default Re: Possible change to AddonLoader "delayed" loading

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adirelle View Post
Will delayed addons still be loaded "slowly", one at a time ? If yes, this seems fine to me.
Of course. It would simply "pause" the procedure during combat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adirelle View Post
I'm also wondering if "X-LoadOn-Combat: true" does load the addon before the combat lock up, so they can create any needed secure frames (or whatever cannot be done in combat).
Good question - it "should" since it does all the processing and loading inside the event for PLAYER_REGEN_DISABLED (where we should be able to do noncombat stuff still, according to Blizzard), but I for one haven't actually tested that it works, and I have to admit that it IS somewhat of a special case with going ahead and loading a whole addon inside the event handler.
__________________
Yes. I'm actually Mikk. The curse user DB has mixed this old account up with my new one. Going on 3 years now! It's awesome.
dpsgnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011   #4
Nevcairiel
Super Moderator
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany/Hamburg
Posts: 1,795
Default Re: Possible change to AddonLoader "delayed" loading

If your addon needs to make sure that it is created early enough to work after a login in combat, i would suggest to just not delay its loading.
__________________
Author/Maintainer of Ace3, Bartender4, Mapster, Quartz, HotCandy, and various small and helpful addons.
You can Donate if you want, any help is appreciated!
Nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011   #5
Adirelle
Legendary Member
 
Adirelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Possible change to AddonLoader "delayed" loading

Fair enough.
__________________
Author of Inline Aura, AdiBags, Squire2 and several other addons.

Each time you hit your "copy" command with a block of code, think about a way to refactor it so it did what you want without using the "paste" command.
Adirelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011   #6
Tekkub
Wiki Master
 
Tekkub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,086
Default Re: Possible change to AddonLoader "delayed" loading

I'm with Nevvy, it's rare for you to *need* to load properly in combat, so if you do you should be taking extra steps to ensure that works in the first place. Using both delayed and combat triggers will probably cover you, then if you log in mid-combat it loads immediately, otherwise it loads delayed.
Tekkub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
addonloader lod delayed


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:43 AM.